African Nations Championship: See Who Keshi Picks For Nigerian Team!

photo - African Nations Championship: See Who Keshi Picks For Nigerian Team!

‘Golden Eaglet’ Kelechi Iheanacho against a Guinea opponent

Coach Stephen Keshi has called up 30 players, while putting six on standby, in preparations for the 3rd African Nations Championship in South Africa, scheduled to take place between Jan. 11 and Feb. 1.

Golden Eaglets stars Kelechi Iheanacho, Taiwo Awoniyi and Dele Alampasu have been picked for a training camp ahead of next year’s CHAN.

Keshi said he is looking forward to a good outing on the country’s CHAN debut.

“We are going to the CHAN for the first time, but we want to be the best at our very first outing,” he said in Salvador, Brazil, on Thursday morning.

Nigeria would play in Group A alongside hosts South Africa, Mali and Mozambique.

First-choice goalkeeper and skipper Chigozie Agbim and ace midfielder Sunday Mba top the list, with Shooting Stars forward Gbolahan Salami handed a recall.

The training camp will open in Abuja on Monday.

Players on the standby list would join the team if a player on the main list gets injured.

The Full List

Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC); Isah Danladi (Sharks FC); Sunday Alampasu (Abuja Football College)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Ebenezer Odunlami (Sunshine Stars); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Bright Esieme (Enyimba FC); Yinka Adedeji (Sharks FC); Reuben Ogbonnaya (El-Kanemi Warriors); Umar Zango (Kano Pillars); Chibuzor Madu (Enugu Rangers)

Midfielders: Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers); Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Ogonna Osuchukwu (Enugu Rangers); Achiv Douglas (Lobi Stars); Kelechi Iheanacho (Taiye Academy, Owerri); Mohammed Ajia (Bayelsa United); Christian Pyagbara (Sharks FC)

Forwards: Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars); Ifeanyi Edeh (Enyimba FC); Barnabas Imenger (Lobi Stars); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers); Ezekiel Mbah (Akwa United); Obiozor Christian (Enugu Rangers); Abubakar Aliyu (Nasarawa United); Gbolahan Salami (3SC); Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy, Ilorin)

Standby: Happy Okuoka (Heartland FC); Bello Ikeleji (Insurance FC); Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland FC); Izuegbu Abonima (Enugu Rangers); Paul Ikenna (Sunshine Stars); John Austin Igenepo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s