37 PDP Lawmakers Join APC (UPDATED with DOCUMENTS)

The current crisis rocking the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, took a shocking dimension on Wednesday as 37 members of the House of Representatives who were formerly under the umbrella of PDP have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

According to lawmakers, the former PDP members are joining the APC because of  “division and fractionalization” within the ruling party.

Among the defectors are the Chairman, House Committee on Publicity, Mr. Zakari Mohammed, from Kwara State and Dakuku Peterside from Rivers State.

SaharaReporters has published poor-quality photo-copies of the documents, submitted by the members of New PDP to the House of Representatives, Nigerian National Assembly, communicating their change of political party to the APC. Have a look at them below:

37 PDP Lawmakers Join APC37 PDP Lawmakers Join APC37 PDP Lawmakers Join APC37 PDP Lawmakers Join APC37 PDP Lawmakers Join APC


Tambuwal read out the names of the defectors on the floor and stood up to acknowledge their decision to abandon the PDP.

They said their action was backed by Section 68(1)(g) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

There was jubilation on the floor as the APC members hugged the defectors and shook hands with them.

For PDP members, most of them looked worried, but some of them shouted “PDP, power!”

The defectors soon filed before Tambuwal, shaking hands with him.

Also among those who have defected to the APC are leaders of the Kawu Baraje-led faction of the PDP in Bauchi State.

Led by Abubakar Doma, the group was received by the party’s chieftain in the state and former Minister of Police Affairs Dr. Ibrahim Yakubu Lame.

Speaking to newsmen, Doma explained that the development was aimed at ensuring justice and fairness in the country.

He also rubbished the claim by the New PDP former state chairman, Muhammed Lawal Isah, that the faction had reconciled with the National Chairman, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur.

Doma disclosed that aside Isah, New PDP members and executives across the 20 local governments in the state had also crossed to the APC.

He said: “The Bauchi State chapter of the new PDP has since joined the progressive national leadership of APC and has since been received by the party under the leadership of the former Police Affairs Minister, Dr. Lame. It is noteworthy that our resolution to join the APC was unanimous and had no second thought.’’

The defectors therefore warned that they would not hesitate to institute a legal action against anybody who continues to sponsor advertorials in newspapers, linking them with the old or new PDP and its affairs, saying they were committed to working spiritedly towards the victory of the APC in 2015.

Doma said, “By this remarks, we are calling on the leadership of the APC in the state to dismiss any insinuation meant to ridicule our genuine integration into the party with all our subjects.

We remain loyal and committed party members who are ready to use our time, abilities and resources, to work hard in ensuring the success of the party.’’

*It should be recalleds that five governors elected under the PDP platform had earlier defected to the APC.They are, Aliyu Wamako of Sokoto, Musa Kwankwanso of Kano, Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara, Murtala Nyako of Adamawa, and Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers.
Source: Channels TV


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s