Nigeria’s Chigozie Obioma enters Man Booker top list


The Fisherman by Nigeria’s Chigozie Obioma has been included in the 2015 longlist for the Man Booker prize, the UK’s leading award for fiction, along with a number of highly recommended novels by UK and US writers. The £50,000 prize, previously awarded to authors from the UK and Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe, was opened in 2014 to all novels originally in English and published in the UK.

The three novels by UK-born writers on the 13-strong list are Satin Island by Tom McCarthy, The Illuminations by Andrew O’Hagan and The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota. In addition to McCarthy and O’Hagan, both of whom have been shortlisted before, the longlist also includes a previous winner in the Irish author Anne Enright, recognised this year for The Green Road.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s